English

English Department Outcomes

As a result of the required course of study in English, students will:

  1. Use biographical, sociological, religious, economic, and political contexts to accurately interpret meaning in various genres of nonfiction and fiction.
  2. Analyze the literary techniques used by authors to convey meaning.
  3. Use literature as a tool for analyzing and interpreting the human experience.
  4. Fluently communicate ideas in standard English at the levels of sentence, paragraph, and multi-paragraph essay.
  5. Write competently in various formats: expository, narrative, persuasive, cause and effect, comparison, and contrast.
  6. Utilize adequate vocabulary and stylistic techniques to enhance writing.
  7. Gather sources appropriate for research in a specific discipline.
  8. Correctly paraphrase, quote, and document sources in written reports of research.
  9. Write research reports in a logical, clear, and technically correct manner.
  10. Use standard English in spoken responses and formal presentations.
  11. Speak effectively to one-on-one, small-group, and large-group audiences using appropriate audio-visual aids.
  12. Organize and formulate oral presentations appropriate to the intended audience, purpose of presentation, time, and content restraints.

Faculty

Melissa Valadez, Chair mvaladez@sja.us
English 10        Honors English 10

Tracy Buchanan tbuchanan@sja.us
English 9     Honors English 9      Speech Communications

Avy Jaimes-Torres ajaimes@sja.us
English 12     AP English Literature

Stephanie Machinena swaller@sja.us 
Language Arts 8    Foundational Language Arts 8   Honors Language Arts     Speech Communications

Suzanne Mohr  msmohr@sja.us
Foundational Language Arts 7    Language Arts 7    Honors Language Arts 7    Writing Enrichment

Karen Murphy kmurphy@sja.us
AP English Language &  AP English Literature    Foundational English 9    Writing Enrichment    Writing Laboratory   Speech     

Chelsea Ramos cramos@sja.us
English 11    Creative Writing

Rey Rosas  rrosas@sja.us
Journalism    Yearbook


Writing Portfolio Information

English · Saint Joseph AcademyEnglish · Saint Joseph Academy