Mathematics

Mathematics Department Outcomes

  1. As a result of the required course of studies in mathematics, the students will:
  2. Use the four basic operations with all numbers and polynomials.
  3. Solve equations and inequalities for at least two unknowns.
  4. Develop strategies for solving word problems, translate word problems into written equations, and solve them.
  5. Graph solutions to linear equations, quadratic equations, and trigonometric functions.
  6. Apply definitions, postulates, axioms, theorems, and identities to develop geometric and trigonometric proofs.
  7. Apply mathematical formulas and the different properties of geometric figures in problem-solving.
  8. Convert among customary, metric, and angular units of measurement.
  9. Use customary, metric, and angular unites to measure and solve spatial and other problems.
  10. Accurately read, interpret, and analyze graphs.

Faculty

Stella Filizola, Chair sfilizola@sja.us
Honors Algebra II  Dual Enrollment
Pre-Calculus,  Honors Pre-Calculus Dual Enrollment

Anabel Aldrete aaldrete@sja.us
Pre-Algebra 8      Algebra 1    Honors Algebra 1

Chris Gloor  cgloor@sja.us
Geometry     Honors Geometry    Pre-Calculus

Jerri Hernandez jhernandez@sja.us
Geometry, Calculus I 

Rene Lerma    rlerma@sja.us
Math 7      Pre-Algebra 7    Honors Pre-Algebra    
Honors Calculus Dual Enrollment     AP Calculus Dual Enrollment

Faviola Sosa fsosa@sja.us
Algebra I      Algebra II       

Mathematics · Saint Joseph AcademyMathematics · Saint Joseph Academy