Religious Studies

Religious Studies Department Outcomes

As a result of the required course of study in Religious Studies, students will:

  1. Know and love Jesus Christ.
  2. Apply Roman Catholic teaching to the analysis of personal and social issues.
  3. Speak knowledgeably about the Scriptures, applying lessons from the Old and New Testaments to their own experiences.
  4. Apply knowledge of Church history to their analysis of present and future Church realities.
  5. Respond to moral issues and social concerns in a Christian manner, drawing on the resources of Church tradition, spirituality, critical theological reflection, and dialogue.
  6. Demonstrate an informed respect for people of different faith traditions.
  7. Make Christian lifestyle choices informed by serious reflection on their relationship to self, others, and God.
  8. Participate in the worship and mission of the Church – particularly in service to the least favored – in an active and informed manner.

Community Service Requirement

All students will be required to perform five hours of service each semester. Examples of acceptable service include:

  • Direct Service to the poor.
  • Service with organizations that indirectly serve the poor. (In this case, students should be prompted to consider how their work indirectly served the poor)
  • Service at or for a Church or faith community.
  • Service at City or County organizations and/or organized event.
  • Service to Saint Joseph Academy community and/or special SJA events

A listing of approved and reliable service sites and the hour log sheet will be available through the student’s Religious Studies teacher. The site list and service hour log sheet are also posted on EDLINE. The list is maintained by Brother Michael Williams in the Campus Ministry office (room 135). Brother Michael also communicates new opportunities for service through the SJA announcements throughout the school year. If students are planning to perform service at a site not listed on the Approved Service Contact Information List, they should consult with their teacher for approval. In addition, students are encouraged to inform their Religious Studies teacher of any service opportunities they would like to share with their classmates.


Faculty

David Bonnet, Religion Chair,  dbonnet@sja.us
Religion 9

Tony Cantu tcantu@sja.us
Campus Ministry, Call to Ministry

Bro. Francis Garza, FMS     fgarza@sja.us
Religion 7

Mary Beth Martin,     mmartin@sja.us
Religion 10       World Religions 12       Christian Identity  12

Celeste Solis     csolis@sja.us
Social Justice 11

Steven Najera    snajera@sja.us 
Religion 8         World Religions 12 / Christian Identity 12

Brother Michael Williams   mwilliams2@sja.us
Christian Service

 

Religious Studies · Saint Joseph AcademyReligious Studies · Saint Joseph Academy